Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator

Print     


Looted art from the Nazi period

Background

Saline Grasleben, August 1945 © bpk / Zentralarchiv, SMB
Saline Grasleben, August 1945 © bpk / Zentralarchiv, SMB

Under the domination of the Nazis from 1933 to 1945, a great many works of art were confiscated in Germany and in annexed and occupied countries. Looted art of this kind was dispersed abroad and on occasion ended up in Switzerland, both during the time of German National Socialism and thereafter.

Soon after the end of the Second World War, steps began to be taken to reimburse or compensate the victims – both on the international level and within Switzerland. Since the 1990s there has been another marked increase in public interest, both national and international, in looted and plundered art from the time of German National Socialism. In the spring of 1998 the Swiss Federal Office of Culture published a report on an investigation into the provenance of cultural property in the possession of the Swiss Confederation, with particular reference to the issue of Nazi-looted art. The same year saw the publication of a study on Switzerland as an art market in the years from 1933 to 1945, which was commissioned by the Federal Office of Culture and the Nationale Informationsstelle für Kulturgüter-Erhaltung (NIKE).

At international level, in December 1998 the Swiss Confederation took part, along with 43 other nations, in the pioneering Washington Conference, and made a significant contribution to the elaboration of the Washington Conference Principles on Nazi-Confiscated Art (the “Washington Principles”). These are non-binding guidelines aimed at bringing about just and fair solutions in cases where art works have been confiscated.

Following the Washington Conference, on 26 January 1999 the Swiss Federal Council set up the Contact Bureau on Looted Art. In dealing with issues arising from Nazi-looted art, this institution recommends a transparent, legal and adequate approach with the aim of arriving at just and fair solutions.

Goals

Work in connection with Nazi-looted art pursues the following goals:

  • to facilitate research into the provenance of art works;
  • to improve transparency and foster a responsible approach to past history, through publication of the results of provenance research; and
  • to enable the achievement of just and fair solutions in cases of looted art as recommended by the Washington Principles.

Last updated on: 17.01.2017

End Content Area



http://www.bak.admin.ch/kulturerbe/04402/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator

Drucken     


Raubkunst

Ausgangslage

Saline Grasleben, August 1945 © bpk / Zentralarchiv, SMB
Saline Grasleben, August 1945 © bpk / Zentralarchiv, SMB

Während der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus von 1933-1945 wurden in Deutschland und den annektierten und besetzten Ländern eine grosse Anzahl Kunstwerke konfisziert. Solche Raubkunst kam während und auch nach der Zeit des Deutschen Nationalsozialismus unter anderem auch in die Schweiz.

Kurz nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg gab es international und auch in der Schweiz erste Rückerstattungs- und Entschädigungsmassnahmen. Seit den neunziger Jahren hat das öffentliche Interesse an Raub- und Beutekunst aus der Zeit des Deutschen Nationalsozialismus national sowie international wieder stark zugenommen. So veröffentlichte das Bundesamt für Kultur im Frühjahr 1998 einen Bericht zur Untersuchung der Provenienz der Kulturgüter im Eigentum der Eidgenossenschaft im Hinblick auf die NS-Raubkunstproblematik. Sodann erschien 1998 die vom Bundesamt für Kultur und der Nationalen Informationsstelle für Kulturgüter-Erhaltung (NIKE) in Auftrag gegebene Studie zum Kunsthandelsplatz Schweiz in der Zeit von 1933-1945.

Auf internationaler Ebene nahm die Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft im Dezember 1998 zusammen mit 43 anderen Staaten an der wegweisenden «Washingtoner Konferenz» teil und war massgebend an der Ausarbeitung der «Richtlinien der Washingtoner Konferenz in Bezug auf Kunstwerke, die von den Nazis konfisziert wurden» (Washingtoner Richtlinien) beteiligt. Bei den Washingtoner Richtlinien handelt es sich um nicht bindende Grundsätze, die das Ziel haben, in Raubkunstfällen gerechte und faire Lösungen zu erreichen.

Anschliessend an die Washingtoner Konferenz richtete der Schweizerische Bundesrat am 26. Januar 1999 die Anlaufstelle Raubkunst ein. Die Anlaufstelle Raubkunst empfiehlt im Umgang mit der NS-Raubkunstproblematik eine transparente, rechtmässige und angemessene Aufarbeitung, um gerechte und faire Lösungen zu erzielen.

Ziele

Die Arbeiten im NS-Raubkunstbereich dienen folgenden Zielen:

  • Sie sollen die Provenienzforschung ermöglichen;
  • sie sollen zu mehr Transparenz und zu einem verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit der Geschichte führen, indem die Resultate der Provenienzforschungen veröffentlicht werden; und
  • sie sollen im Sinne der Washingtoner Richtlinien die Erreichung von gerechten und fairen Lösungen in Raubkunstfällen ermöglichen.

Zuletzt aktualisiert am: 19.10.2016

Ende Inhaltsbereich



http://www.bak.admin.ch/kulturerbe/04402/index.html?lang=de