Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator

Print     


Looted art from the Nazi period

Background

Saline Grasleben, August 1945 © bpk / Zentralarchiv, SMB
Saline Grasleben, August 1945 © bpk / Zentralarchiv, SMB

Under the domination of the Nazis from 1933 to 1945, a great many works of art were confiscated in Germany and in annexed and occupied countries. Looted art of this kind was dispersed abroad and on occasion ended up in Switzerland, both during the time of German National Socialism and thereafter.

Soon after the end of the Second World War, steps began to be taken to reimburse or compensate the victims – both on the international level and within Switzerland. Since the 1990s there has been another marked increase in public interest, both national and international, in looted and plundered art from the time of German National Socialism. In the spring of 1998 the Swiss Federal Office of Culture published a report on an investigation into the provenance of cultural property in the possession of the Swiss Confederation, with particular reference to the issue of Nazi-looted art. The same year saw the publication of a study on Switzerland as an art market in the years from 1933 to 1945, which was commissioned by the Federal Office of Culture and the Nationale Informationsstelle für Kulturgüter-Erhaltung (NIKE).

At international level, in December 1998 the Swiss Confederation took part, along with 43 other nations, in the pioneering Washington Conference, and made a significant contribution to the elaboration of the Washington Conference Principles on Nazi-Confiscated Art (the “Washington Principles”). These are non-binding guidelines aimed at bringing about just and fair solutions in cases where art works have been confiscated.

Following the Washington Conference, on 26 January 1999 the Swiss Federal Council set up the Contact Bureau on Looted Art. In dealing with issues arising from Nazi-looted art, this institution recommends a transparent, legal and adequate approach with the aim of arriving at just and fair solutions.

Goals

Work in connection with Nazi-looted art pursues the following goals:

  • to facilitate research into the provenance of art works;
  • to improve transparency and foster a responsible approach to past history, through publication of the results of provenance research; and
  • to enable the achievement of just and fair solutions in cases of looted art as recommended by the Washington Principles.

Last updated on: 17.01.2017

End Content Area



http://www.bak.admin.ch/kulturerbe/04402/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur

Imprimer     


L'art spolié

Point de la situation

La saline Grasleben, août 1945 © bpk / Zentralarchiv, SMB
La saline Grasleben, août 1945 © bpk / Zentralarchiv, SMB

Un grand nombre d'œuvres d'art ont été confisquées en Allemagne et dans les pays annexés et occupés entre 1933 et 1945 pendant le régime national-socialiste. Certaines d'entre elles sont arrivées en Suisse durant et après cette période.
Un travail de restitution et de dédommagement a été entrepris au plan international et en Suisse dès la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Depuis les années 1990, l'intérêt du public pour cette question n'a fait que croître, en Suisse et à l'étranger. C'est ainsi qu'au printemps de 1998, l'Office fédéral de la culture publiait un rapport sur l'état des recherches concernant la provenances des biens culturels de la Confédération, un rapport qui pointait en particulier la thématique de l'art spolié. Puis, cette même année, commandée par l'Office fédéral de la culture et le Centre national d'information pour la conservation des biens culturels (NIKE), est parue l'étude sur la Suisse en tant que place du commerce d'art pendant la période de 1933 à 1945.

Au plan international, la Confédération suisse, avec 43 autres Etats, a participé à la Conférence de Washington en décembre 1998 et a pris une part active à l'élaboration des « Principes de la Conférence de Washington applicables aux œuvres d'art confisquées par les nazis » (Principes de Washington). Non contraignants, ces principes ont pour objectif de trouver des solutions justes et équitables dans les cas qui se présentent.

Suite à la conférence de Washington, le Conseil fédéral suisse instituait le bureau de l'art spolié le 26 janvier 1999. Le bureau recommande de travailler dans la transparence, la légalité et l'équité pour arriver aux solutions justes et équitables préconisées par la Conférence de Washington.

Objectifs

Voici quels sont les objectifs des travaux entrepris dans le domaine de l'art spolié:

  • Faciliter les recherches de provenance;
  • amener à davantage de transparence et à davantage de responsabilité dans la relation à l'histoire grâce à la publication des résultats des recherches de provenance et
  • permettre d'arriver à des solutions justes et équitables au sens des Principes de Washington.

Dernière mise à jour le: 17.01.2017

Fin secteur de contenu



http://www.bak.admin.ch/kulturerbe/04402/index.html?lang=fr