Dance production 2022, theatre production 2022 & June Johnson Newcomer Prize

Marc Oosterhoff
© BAK / Charlotte Krieger

Dance production “Blast!” by Ruth Childs and theatre production “EWS – Der einzige Politthriller der Schweiz” by Theater Neumarkt won the dance production and theatre production awards, respectively. Marc Oosterhoff/Cie Moost won the June Johnson Newcomer Prize.

The Federal Dance Jury selected “Blast!” by Ruth Childs (1984) as the dance production winner out of 21 entrants: Ruth Childs takes the audience on a journey of discovery through the human emotions in her solo performance. From a shortlist of 21 productions at the 2023 Swiss Theatre Days, the Federal Theatre Jury selected outstanding 2022 theatre production “EWS – Der einzige Politthriller der Schweiz” by Theater Neumarkt, production and concept Piet Baumgartner and Julia Reichert (1984/1983): a humorous production of a very Swiss, political episode featuring former Federal Councillor Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf with an amateur choir and slam poet. The play is based on a montage of press cuttings. There were 40 entries for the June Johnson Newcomer Prize, financed by the Stanley Thomas Johnson Foundation. The winner was artist, dancer and choreographer Marc Oosterhoff (1990), who founded Cie Moost in 2017.

Last modification 19.03.2024

Top of page


Federal Office of Culture
Section Cultural Creativity
Performing arts
Claudia Rosiny
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern
Phone +41 58 465 39 19

Print contact