UNESCO World Heritage

Some cultural and natural sites are of exceptional universal interest and should therefore be placed under the protection of humanity as a whole. These sites are therefore inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List.
The list is based on the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Natural and Cultural Heritage. By adopting the convention in 1972, UNESCO tasked itself with the mission of preserving cultural and natural sites of exceptional universal value for future generations. There are now more than 1100 sites recognised as world heritage sites. The convention has been ratified by practically the entire international community. Switzerland was one of the first signatories in 1975.

World heritage sites in Switzerland

Switzerland is home to 13 sites on the World Heritage List, including nine cultural ones:

The Federal Office of Culture is responsible for all these sites.

The Federal Office for the Environment is responsible for the natural sites of the Swiss Alps Jungfrau-Aletsch (2001), Monte San Giorgio (2003), the Swiss Tectonic Area Sardona (2008) and the Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe (2021).


Federal Office of Culture
Section Baukultur
Hallwylstr. 15
3003 Bern
Phone +41 58 462 86 25

Print contact