Two new calls for submissions for the Swiss Performing Arts Awards

As part of the realignment to create the Swiss Performing Arts Awards, the June Johnson Newcomer Prize and the Cultural Heritage call for submissions will be expanded to include the performing arts. Entries for the 2021 awards can be submitted between 6 October and 3 November 2020 on the FOC support platform.

June Johnson Prize 2019 Unplush
June Johnson Prize 2019: Unplush
© BAK / Adrian Moser

In partnership with the Federal Office of Culture, the Stanley Thomas Johnson Foundation presents an award for innovative young Swiss cultural production in the performing arts. The basis for this award, which is worth CHF 25,000, is a competition that is open to Swiss citizens and culture practitioners resident in Switzerland. The Dance as Cultural Heritage measure, which alternated with the biennial Dance Awards between 2012 and 2020, will be expanded to include the performing arts, with an annual call for submissions. In total, CHF 80,000 will be made available for one to three projects each year. Revivals of works, historical themes related to the performing arts (periods, places, artistic personalities) in a wide range of documentary or artistic formats are eligible to enter. The dance and theatre juries will select the winners from the two competitions in spring 2021. The winners will be announced and presented in autumn.

For information and submissions, go to the "Laufende Ausschreibungen" section of the Federal Office of Culture support platform:

Specialist staff
Last modification 11.09.2020

Top of page