Baukultur movement

A truck drives on the Sunnisberg bridge towards a mountain landscape. The picture conveys an atmosphere of departure.
Sunnisberg bridge (GR).
© FOC / photo Rolf Siegenthaler

Everyone is talking about Baukultur and its associated Baukultur concept is growing in popularity in Switzerland and internationally. A Swiss initiative, the Baukultur concept was internationally and strategically embedded in the Davos Declaration 2018. Efforts to achieve high-quality Baukultur have been growing ever since. They include regional initiatives and policies, nationwide organisations and international networking committees.

Two of our neighbouring countries have established institutions at national level to strengthen Baukultur and promote dialogue on the subject: the “Plattform Baukulturpolitik” in Austria (since 2005) and the “Bundesstiftung Baukultur” in Germany (since 2007). Many other countries have established Baukultur policies and implement them using such terminology as “architectural policy” or “policy for the built environment”.

In Switzerland, the Swiss Society of Engineers and Architects (SIA) set up the “Runder Tisch Baukultur” in 2010 to establish a Baukultur network with the different involved parties. The “Manifest zur Baukultur” was published the following year. In its cultural policy statement (Kulturbotschaft 2016–2020), the parliament mandated the Federal Office of Culture (FOC) to develop a policy for a high-quality Baukultur in cooperation with all the relevant federal offices. The “Kulturbotschaft 2021–2024” adds substance to the concept of Baukultur and systematically integrates it into cultural policy. The Federal Council approved the interdepartmental Baukultur policy in February 2020.

The FOC shapes and coordinates federal national and international Baukultur policy. That demonstrates its commitment to suitable cooperation formats with all relevant players.

Contact

Federal Office of Culture
Section Baukultur
Hallwylstr. 15
3003 Bern
Phone +41 58 462 86 25
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bak.admin.ch/content/bak/en/home/baukultur/konzept-baukultur/bewegung-fuer-baukultur.html

Bewegung für Baukultur

Ein Lastwagen fährt auf der Sunnibergbrücke in Richtung Berglandschaft. Das Bild vermittelt Aufbruchsstimmung.
Sunnibergbrücke (GR).
© BAK / Foto Rolf Siegenthaler

Der Begriff Baukultur ist aktuell in aller Munde und das dazugehörige Konzept Baukultur findet in der Schweiz und international verstärkt Anklang. Als Initiative der Schweiz wurde das Konzept Baukultur durch die Erklärung von Davos 2018 international und strategisch verankert. Seitdem entsteht eine wachsende Anzahl von Bestrebungen für eine hohe Baukultur. Diese reichen von regionalen Aktionen und Strategien über schweizweit tätige Organisationen bis zu internationalen Gremien der Vernetzung.

Mit der «Plattform Baukulturpolitik» in Österreich (seit 2005) und der «Bundesstiftung Baukultur» in Deutschland (seit 2007) haben unsere beiden Nachbarländer Institutionen auf nationaler Ebene geschaffen, die sich für die Stärkung der Baukultur und den Diskurs einsetzen. Viele weitere Staaten haben Strategien im Sinne des Konzepts Baukultur etabliert und führen diese unter Begriffen wie «Architekturpolitik» oder «Politik für die gebaute Umwelt».

In der Schweiz hat der Schweizerische Ingenieur- und Architektenverein (SIA) 2010 den «Runden Tisch Baukultur» ins Leben gerufen, um die unterschiedlichen Akteure im Bereich der Baukultur zu vernetzen. Das «Manifest zur Baukultur» wurde im Folgejahr publiziert. Mit der Kulturbotschaft 2016–2020 hat das Parlament das Bundesamt für Kultur (BAK) beauftragt, eine Strategie für eine hohe Baukultur mit allen relevanten Bundesstellen zu erarbeiten. Die Kulturbotschaft 2021–2024 konkretisiert das Konzept Baukultur und bindet es systematisch in die Kulturpolitik ein. Der Bundesrat hat die interdepartementale Strategie Baukultur im Februar 2020 verabschiedet.

Das BAK gestaltet und koordiniert die nationale und internationale Baukulturpolitik des Bundes. Dabei engagiert es sich für geeignete Formate der Zusammenarbeit mit allen Akteurinnen und Akteuren.

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Kultur
Sektion Baukultur
Hallwylstr. 15
3003 Bern
Telefon +41 58 462 86 25
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bak.admin.ch/content/bak/de/home/baukultur/konzept-baukultur/bewegung-fuer-baukultur.html