Dance - Latest news - 2020

1_Edouard Hue

Tanzfest 2021 with winners of the 2019 Dance Awards

In common with all cultural events, the 2020 Tanzfest dance festival has been cancelled. The “Swiss Dance Awards on Tour” promotion will therefore focus on the 2021 edition. Ad hoc alternative online program: #DisDance with, among others, a Flashmob by Edouard Hue
La Ribot an der Preisverleihung 2019

Interviews with the 2019 award winners

Interviews with all the winners of the Swiss Dance Awards 2019 have been published in four languages on the Swiss Culture Awards website. They can be read or downloaded in PDF format from
Interview mit Ursula Pellaton im Opernhaus Zürich Foto Katrin Oettli © Stiftung SAPA

Dance as Cultural Heritage – selected projects for 2020

Of the seven projects submitted last autumn for Dance as Cultural Heritage 2020, the Federal Dance Jury has awarded four: Die Rote Kapelle, Tour de Bal 2021–22, Hybride Geschichte(n) – Publishing Swiss Oral Dance History, and Zeitgenössische Choreograf*innen bei der Arbeit
«Vicky setzt Segel» Company Mafalda

Next calls for submissions in autumn 2020

The next calls for submissions for dance take place in autumn 2020. They also include the Current Dance Works competition
Yan Duyvendak Grand Prix Theater Hans-Reinhart-Rin

Swiss Performing Arts Awards launching in 2021

As announced in the Culture Dispatch 2021–2024, from 2021 the Theatre Awards, including the Kleinkunstpreis, will be merged with the Dance Awards and presented annually under the umbrella of the Swiss Performing Arts Awards in autumn.

Call for submissions – Dance Production 2020 competition

From 6 October to 3 November 2020, current dance productions can be entered for the Dance Production 2020 award on the the FOC support platform.
June Johnson Prize 2019 Unplush

Two new calls for submissions for the Swiss Performing Arts Awards

As part of the realignment to create the Swiss Performing Arts Awards, the June Johnson Newcomer Prize and the Cultural Heritage call for submissions will be expanded to include the performing arts. Entries for the 2021 awards can be submitted between 6 October and 3 November 2020 on the FOC support platform.

Specialist staff
Last modification 13.05.2020

Top of page